Given that most of the clothes for sale in shops in my city can be traced back to sweatshops, it’s a fair bet that I won’t be buying much of anything in 2011. I’m not really a big shopper, but I do pick up bits and pieces during the year. I thought a great way to remind myself that I don’t really need any new clothes would be to do a stocktake of the clothes I currently have. Here’s what I have:

  • Singlet tops/tanks-  15
  • T-shirts – 20
  • Bras – 12
  • Undies – 21
  • Long pants – 9
  • Shorts – 5
  • Skirts – 8
  • Jeans – 5
  • Dresses – 13
  • Fancy tops – 11
  • Sports tops – 12
  • Sports bras – 5
  • Sports shorts/tights – 10
  • Shoes – 10

 

woman-shocked-3
Image of a cartoon lady with ginger hair screaming with her hands on her face

Whilst some of that list came from op shops, vintage shops or Sweatshop free companies, most didn’t. I’m keeping this information on my phone, so that when I’m out and about and am hit by the shopping desire, I can pull up the numbers and remind myself that I really don’t need anything new.

Need aside, most of us take some pleasure in buying a new whatever every now and then, and I don’t see much wrong with this – if it doesn’t lead to the suffering of others. Listed on the Ethical Brands tab at the top of the blog are some suggestions for fair trade shops, vintage sellers and op shops that can still feed the desire to acquire. That said, I think it would be an interesting mission to see what happens to the desire to shop when I don’t give into it. I’ll let you know what happens.

Meantime, what do you have in your wardrobe?

